Runway vs Kling AI
Kling pricing · Kling vs Runway · Kling vs Pika vs Luma
See alternatives: Runway alternatives
Runway vs Kling AI compared with prices from official pricing pages (per-tool checked dates): plans, free tiers and which is better value.
Which should you pick?
Pick Kling AI if price matters: $6.20/mo ($74.40/yr) less than Runway on monthly billing.
Free plan, refunds, privacy and more: see what else differs ↓
- Price on monthly billing
- Kling AI $8.80/mo · Runway $15/mo (+$6.20/mo, +$74.40/yr)
- Real free plan
- Runway: no · Kling AI: no
- Free alternative (same main job)
- For Runway: Pika — Free plan: $0, credit packs only, no commercial license · For Kling AI: Pika — Free plan: $0, credit packs only, no commercial license
- ToolPick Best Value pick
- Runway (for video)
Rule: we only compare prices when the tools do the same main job (from what each official site says it does), and only on the same billing (monthly with monthly, billed-yearly with billed-yearly). A real free plan on only one tool comes first. Prices from official pricing pages, each with its own checked date below. No ratings or reviews. The cheaper pick comes from price alone; the Best Value label is shown separately and never replaces it — the same rule as on each tool page.
| Runway | Kling AI | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Gen-4.5 text/image-to-video plus image and audio models in one app. | Text/image-to-video generator. |
| All plans | Standard $15/mo ($12/mo billed yearly); Pro $35 ($28); Max $95 ($76) | List prices: Standard $8.8/mo ($79.20/yr); Pro $32.56/mo ($293.04/yr); Premier $181.99/mo ($1,639.99/yr); Ultra+ $544.99/mo ($4,902.99/yr). Promotional: 30% off the first month, one time: Standard $6.99; Pro $25.99; Premier $144.99; Ultra+ $432.99 (end date not stated) |
| Free tier | Free plan: one-time 125 credits | Basic: free ($0); free credits not stated |
| Checked | 2026-11-02 · pricing page | 2026-11-02 · pricing page |
Beyond the price: Runway vs Kling AI
Free plan limits, yearly savings, student and team deals, refunds and whether your data trains their AI, side by side. Every fact is from the tool's official page, with its source and the date we read it.
What matters to you?
Tap what matters to you. We tally which tool is ahead using only the facts in the table below.
| What you get | Runway | Kling AI |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan Free plan limits → | Yes: 125 credits, one time only Watermark: Yes, videos carry a Runway watermark Commercial use: Yes, on every plan including Freesource for Runway (opens in a new tab) · checked 2026-10-22 | Yes: includes basic plan at $0source for Kling AI (opens in a new tab) · checked 2026-10-22 |
| Yearly billing Monthly or yearly? → | Standard: $15/mo monthly, $12/mo billed yearly (save 20%)source for Runway (opens in a new tab) · checked 2026-10-30 | Not in our checks yet |
| Refunds and cancelling Refund rules → | Refund window: Possible within 30 days of the charge, if unused or close to unused (their call). Cancel: app.runwayml.com/settings/billing → Cancel plan → Continue to cancel plan → confirm in Stripesource for Runway (opens in a new tab) · checked 2026-10-27 | Not in our checks yet |
| Trains on your data? Data privacy → | Yes (no opt-out found) Runway's Terms of Use say your inputs and outputs may be used to train and improve its AI models. We found no opt-out setting on its official pages.source for Runway (opens in a new tab) · checked 2026-10-29 | Not in our checks yet |
“Ahead” means better on that row only, by a fixed rule: a free plan beats none; the bigger yearly saving; free student plan, then discount; the lower per-seat price on the same billing; a stated refund window, then case by case, then none; not training on your data, then opt-in, then opt-out, then no opt-out. No row is called when a tool hasn't been checked. See how we pick.
More: best AI video tools · all video tools · cost calculator
Comparisons
FAQ
How much does Runway cost?
Per its official pricing page (checked 2026-11-02): Standard $15/mo ($12/mo billed yearly); Pro $35 ($28); Max $95 ($76).
Does Runway have a free plan?
Free plan: one-time 125 credits (checked 2026-11-02).
How much does Kling AI cost?
Per its official pricing page (checked 2026-11-02): List prices: Standard $8.8/mo ($79.20/yr); Pro $32.56/mo ($293.04/yr); Premier $181.99/mo ($1,639.99/yr); Ultra+ $544.99/mo ($4,902.99/yr). Promotional: 30% off the first month, one time: Standard $6.99; Pro $25.99; Premier $144.99; Ultra+ $432.99 (end date not stated).
Does Kling AI have a free plan?
Basic: free ($0); free credits not stated (checked 2026-11-02).
What is ToolPick's best-value pick for video?
Runway: A full generative video studio, with one-time free credits to test it first.
Which should I pick, Runway or Kling AI?
Pick Kling AI if price matters: $6.20/mo ($74.40/yr) less than Runway on monthly billing (ToolPick rule using prices checked on official pricing pages).
Writing about this? Embed this price card — it updates when we re-check prices.