Free tools › Free plan limits
Free plan limits, side by side
Video free plans only, friendlier cards: Free AI video limits →
Hitting message caps or weekly limits? See every plan's limit and which one you need: AI usage limits: which plan do you need? →
What each free plan really includes, its main limit, watermarks, commercial use, and the cheapest monthly upgrade. Every value read on the tool's official pricing, help or terms page on 2026-10-22; “not stated” means the page doesn't say.
Best free plan for…
- Coding: GitHub Copilot, its free plan states a clear allowance: 2,000 completions a month.
- Writing: Grammarly, free spelling and grammar checks, plus 100 AI prompts.
- Images: Krea, 100 units every day, rather than a one-time grant.
- Video: Descript, 60 media minutes a month with 720p export.
- Audio: ElevenLabs, 10,000 credits every month across text to speech, sound effects and music.
- Productivity & Meetings: Fathom, unlimited recordings and instant call summaries.
- Presentations: Gamma, 400 credits at signup and PDF/PPTX export (with Gamma branding).
- AI Assistants: Le Chat (Mistral), web and mobile access with image generation and 100+ connectors.
| Tool | Free plan includes | Main limit | Watermark | Commercial use | Cheapest paid step-up (monthly) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Writing | Chat on web, desktop and mobile; web search, files and code; memory; Artifacts | not stated | n/a (text) | not stated | Pro $20/mo | Pricing |
| Le Chat (Mistral) AI Assistants | Web and mobile; basic image generation and editing; 100+ connectors | “Limited messages and web searches” | n/a (text) | not stated | Pro $14.99/mo (excl. tax) | Pricing |
| Cursor Coding | Limited AI usage, agent and chat requests | “Limited agent requests” (no number stated) | n/a (text) | not stated | Plus $8/mo (only Grok models) | Pricing |
| GitHub Copilot Coding | Entry-level models; community support | 2,000 completions per month | n/a (text) | not stated | Pro $10/mo | Pricing |
| Lovable Coding | Unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing | not stated | Lovable badge (removal is a Pro feature) | not stated | Pro $25/mo | Pricing |
| Bolt Coding | Public and private projects; unlimited databases; website hosting | 1M tokens per month, with daily limits | Bolt branding on websites | not stated | not stated | Pricing |
| Grammarly Writing | Spelling and grammar checks; tone detection | 100 AI prompts | n/a (text) | not stated | not stated | Pricing |
| Notion AI Writing | Notion for individuals; basic forms and sites | Notion AI is a trial only | n/a (text) | not stated | not stated | Pricing |
| Otter Audio | Live transcription for Zoom, Teams and Meet; AI chat; speaker identification | 300 transcription minutes a month; 3 lifetime file imports | n/a (text) | not stated | Pro $16.99/user/mo | Pricing |
| Fathom Productivity & Meetings | Unlimited recordings; instant call summaries | not stated | n/a (text) | not stated | Premium $20/mo | Pricing |
| Canva Images | 1,000+ design types; 1.6M+ templates; 5GB storage | Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses | On Pro content only | Yes, Free content in your designs (e.g. marketing, merchandise) | not stated | Pricing · Help/terms |
| Krea Images | Selected models and features | 100 units a day | not stated | Not included (paid plans only, per pricing FAQ) | Basic $9/mo | Pricing |
| Runway Video | A selection of generative models; 5GB storage | 125 credits, one time only | Yes, videos carry a Runway watermark | Yes, on every plan including Free | Standard $15/mo | Pricing · Help/terms |
| Pika Video | All models; credit packs only | 0 credits a month (buy packs) | No watermark | No commercial license | Starter $10/mo | Pricing |
| Kling AI Video | Basic plan at $0 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Standard $8.8/mo ($6.99 first month, 30% off once) | Pricing |
| HeyGen Video | Avatar IV and Video Agent; 1 custom video avatar | 3 videos a month, up to 1 minute each | Yes, watermarked | No (personal, non-commercial use only, per terms) | Creator $29/mo | Pricing · Help/terms |
| Descript Video | Text-based editing; AI tools to try | 60 media minutes a month; 720p export | not stated | not stated | Hobbyist $24/mo | Pricing |
| CapCut Video | Free templates; basic editing tools | not stated | not stated | not stated | Pro $19.99/mo | Pricing |
| ElevenLabs Audio | Text to speech, speech to text, sound effects, voice design, music; 3 Studio projects | 10,000 credits a month | n/a (audio) | No (commercial license starts at Starter) | Starter $6/mo | Pricing |
| Suno Audio | Free models; standard features; upload up to 8 min of audio | 50 credits a day; no monthly song downloads | not stated | No commercial rights | Pro $10/mo | Pricing |
| Udio Audio | Basic features; up to 4 songs at once | 10 credits a day, 100 a month; 3 full-length songs a day | not stated | not stated | Standard $10/mo | Pricing |
| Gamma Presentations | Presentations, docs, websites, social and images; PDF/PPTX import and export | 400 credits at signup; up to 10 slides per prompt | Gamma branding (removed on Plus) | not stated | Plus $12/mo | Pricing |
Not in the table
- ChatGPT: its pricing page redirected to a login screen today, so we couldn't read it.
- Perplexity: its pricing page didn't load its plan details for us today (JavaScript-heavy).
- Google Gemini: the Google AI plans page describes the paid plans, not the free Gemini limits.
- Microsoft Copilot: the Microsoft 365 page we use doesn't describe free Copilot's limits.
- Ideogram: its pricing page doesn't describe a free plan.
- Midjourney: no free plan.
- Luma Dream Machine: no free plan listed on its pricing page.
Related: Can I do it for free? · How we pick