Threshold stated plainly: a tool is included only if its verified entry rate is < $20/mo. A tool listed at exactly $20/mo, or with no verified numeric entry rate (“check site”), is excluded — never guessed in. The Best Value badge follows ToolPick's existing rule: the category Best Value pick for video (Runway) when it is on this list.
Short AI video clips from text or images.
Starter $10/mo ($8 yearly); Creator $35 ($28); Fancy $95-$880
Cheapest plan we checked: $10/mo monthly · $8/mo billed yearly — under $20 on monthly billing
Free plan: $0, credit packs only, no commercial license
Why this pick: Main job: video generation · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $8/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-11-02 · Official pricing page
Text/image-to-video generator.
List prices: Standard $8.8/mo ($79.20/yr); Pro $32.56/mo ($293.04/yr); Premier $181.99/mo ($1,639.99/yr); Ultra+ $544.99/mo ($4,902.99/yr). Promotional: 30% off the first month, one time: Standard $6.99; Pro $25.99; Premier $144.99; Ultra+ $432.99 (end date not stated)
Cheapest plan we checked: $8.80/mo monthly — under $20 on monthly billing
Basic: free ($0); free credits not stated
Why this pick: Main job: video generation · Entry $8.8/mo monthly.
Video · checked 2026-11-02 · Official pricing page
Prompt-to-video for explainer and social videos.
Starter $20/mo ($10 yearly); Plus $60 ($30 yearly), more credits from $150; Max from $250/mo
Cheapest plan we checked: $20/mo monthly · $10/mo billed yearly — under $20 only when billed yearly ($20/mo if you pay monthly)
Free editor available
Why this pick: Main job: video generation · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $10/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-10-19 · Official pricing page
Gen-4.5 text/image-to-video plus image and audio models in one app.
Standard $15/mo ($12/mo billed yearly); Pro $35 ($28); Max $95 ($76)
Cheapest plan we checked: $15/mo monthly · $12/mo billed yearly — under $20 on monthly billing
Free plan: one-time 125 credits
Why this pick: Main job: video generation · ToolPick's Best Value pick for Video · Entry $12/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-11-02 · Official pricing page
Business/training videos with AI presenters in 140+ languages.
Starter $19/mo ($14/mo yearly, $168/yr); Pro $89/mo ($59/mo yearly, $708/yr). Promotional: Starter $9 first month then $19/mo; Pro $49 first month then $89/mo (monthly billing)
Cheapest plan we checked: $19/mo monthly · $14/mo billed yearly — under $20 on monthly billing
Basic free: 10 min video/mo + 500 credits, watermarked
Why this pick: Main job: avatar video · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $14/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-10-27 · Official pricing page
Easy editor for short-form social video, AI features built in.
Pro $19.99/mo ($179.99/yr); Ultra $79/mo ($900/yr); Teams $12.49/seat/mo
Cheapest plan we checked: $19.99/mo monthly · $15/mo billed yearly — under $20 on monthly billing
Free plan with basic editing and templates
Why this pick: Main job: video editing · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $15/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-11-05 · Official pricing page
Turns long videos into short viral clips automatically.
Starter $15/mo; Pro $29/mo; Business custom
Cheapest plan we checked: $15/mo monthly — under $20 on monthly billing
Free forever plan ($0)
Why this pick: Main job: video clipping · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $15/mo monthly.
Video · checked 2026-11-02 · Official pricing page
Edit video by editing the transcript; AI clean-up tools.
Hobbyist $24/mo ($16 yearly); Creator $35 ($24); Business $65 ($50)
Cheapest plan we checked: $24/mo monthly · $16/mo billed yearly — under $20 only when billed yearly ($24/mo if you pay monthly)
Free: 1 media hour/mo, 720p export
Why this pick: Main job: edit by transcript · Has a verified real free plan (trials and one-time credits do not count) · Entry $16/mo billed yearly.
Video · checked 2026-10-19 · Official pricing page
FAQ
Which of these are under $20 only when billed yearly?
InVideo ($20/mo monthly, $10/mo billed yearly), Descript ($24/mo monthly, $16/mo billed yearly). On monthly billing they cost $20/mo or more (or have no checked monthly price).
What does “under $20” mean on this page?
It means the tool's lowest verified entry rate in ToolPick's price table — the lower of its monthly rate and its per-month rate when billed yearly — is under $20/mo (less than $20, not $20 or less). Tools at exactly $20/mo or with no verified numeric entry rate are not included.
Which is cheapest here?
These tools do different main jobs, so we only compare within a job, on monthly prices: video generation: Kling AI at $8.80/mo; avatar video: Synthesia at $19/mo; video editing: CapCut at $19.99/mo; video clipping: Opus Clip at $15/mo; edit by transcript: Descript at $24/mo. Tools with only a billed-yearly price are not ranked.
What is the Best Value pick among these video tools?
Runway is ToolPick's Best Value pick for video and carries the badge on this page. A full generative video studio, with one-time free credits to test it first.